Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society

Breadcrumb Navigation


Are there any visa requirements if I need to travel in Europe? What is the “Schengen Area?”

Countries that have signed the Schengen Treaty have generally abolished passport and border control between their countries. This means that you can travel around Europe (only by car, bus or train) without any special visa requirements. The Schengen Treaty was signed by: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

However, border controls may at times be reinstituted, so always carry your passport when leaving Germany.